Who let the dogs out?

Today was a somewhat eventful day. I went into Hannut and went to a store that was having sales on certain items. We got a flyer and they had slippers for 4 euros. So I went and got a pair! The store kind of reminded me of a Giant Tiger. When I got home I played on the piano for quite some time. It was really nice to revisit the songs I already knew and to try out some new one’s. I feel so great when I can play a song well enough that I’m able to sing along with it. Of course, I’m not always playing the accompaniment as written; sometimes I just play the chords, and sometimes I play a combination of the two.

There are a lot of people in Wasseiges who have dogs. Today, as I was walking home with Bastien from school, we saw two random dogs walking around. One by the little grocery store and one right by the bank (and our house). It was very strange, because I haven’t seen that yet. Usually the dogs are with their owners or behind a gate. I don’t know if they were strays or just got out. It was just funny that we saw two. 🙂

When we got back home I played on the piano again and Bastien played on his drum. Usually when I try to play he tried to push me away and play himself or just shut the piano, but today when I would finish a song, he would say ‘encore Holly, encore’. So I kept playing. It was fun.

We just finished watching French movie about WWII called La Rafle. There were no subtitles I didn’t know exactly what was going on, but sometimes actions speak for themselves and by the end we were all teary eyed. This is one movie I definitely want to watch with subtitles. It is about a group of Jews from France (Paris, I think, Adeline?) and their journey through different camps and the separation of the men from the women and children, and then the children from the women. It’s based on a true account of a survivor. Despite the fact that movies like this are often depressing and make one doubt humanity, I believe they are important for us to watch because they help us remember our history lessons. I forget so many details from history in school. I know that movies are not always historically accurate, but they at least can give us an idea of what went on, better than a textbook (at least when it comes to the pain and suffering). It’s important for us not to forget the past, so we can try and not make the same mistakes in the future. This, of course, is somewhat of a pipe dream because you will always have those people in the world who don’t care about others. So we need to care for them!

If you’ve seen the movie, great! If not, check it out. It has a lot of very talented actors in it, especially some of the kids.

Also, I was going to put up some pictures of my old slippers (may they rest in peace) and my new ones, but it won’t work today. Maybe I’ll sneak them in some other time. I just think my old slippers are hilarious. They leave behind little pieces of themselves wherever they go *sigh*. Now they will be put to rest. The ‘homemade in your school colours’ slippers are always the hardest to let go of. But let go I must.