Never Never Land may be the home of the boys who never grow up…

…but Wasseiges seems to be the home of the boy who won’t sleep. Before supper of course Bastien wanted to go upstairs. But we knew that if he went to lie down he would fall asleep and then not sleep through the night. So we didn’t let him. I think they had to go upstairs about 4 times and he came down 1. Silly boy. Despite his tiredness and moodiness this morning, he seemed to be in a good mood when I picked him up from school at noon. At least that’s something.

Sylvain is crawling! Last night he crawled down the hallway to greet Greg when he got home for work. Mind you, it took a really long time, but he made it. This afternoon he was crawling all over the place. He does a lot of stop and starts, but he is now officially on the move. 7 months, can you believe it? They grow up so fast.

I got a letter from a friend today. I want to respond, but I think I might wait until all this stuff with Canada Post is settled. At least we have email and Facebook even though written letters are wicked cool.

I think tomorrow is going to be the official spring-clean-my-room day. I’ll put on some tunes and start rearranging some furniture. I won’t go too crazy, I’m just going to change one half. I think I’m just going to switch my bed and the couch…just to the opposite wall. Not only does it serve my need to change furniture (I inherit that from my Mother), but it gets the room clean as well. My Mom has this way of changing the furniture around in our Great Room (and Family Room in the old house) twice a year. We kind of have a summer set-up and a winter set-up. When my Dad would come home asking why she did it she said it was either do this or he could by her new furniture every few years. She has a point; simply moving furniture into a different configuration can have a wonderful effect on a person. Makes you feel like you have a new room. I need to dust my shelves as well, they have been neglected for far too long. And I may be able to see my floor, but my desk looks like a war zone! Whoo! Plus I feel like belting songs out at the top of my lungs. I might as well do something useful while I’m at it.

Well, we finished Glee Season 2 and now I want to see ‘Wicked’ again. Just seeing the poster and part of the set. Such a good show. Over the top in the best way. Did you know there’s a Spiderman: The Musical? I have no idea what the music sounds like and I have no idea if it’s been (or will be) at all successful, but I’m not sure if it’s the best idea they’ve had. I don’t know. Now, I love musicals – don’t get me wrong – but not everything is meant to be turned into a musical! Hairspray did very well as a musical, maybe better than the original movie (which I haven’t seen so I’m just making assumptions), but Lord of the Rings: The Musical was a complete flop as far as I know. I boycotted it on principle. J.R.R. Tolkien was not a music lover and I thought the idea was totally ridiculous. On the other hand, Legally Blonde: The Musical is totally awesome! If you’ve never heard of it/heard any of the music, you should check it out. They showed it on MTV, so there’s a whole ton of clips on YouTube (that weren’t taken down because someone illegally filmed them in the theatre…like what happened with Spring Awakening) and if you like the movie at all – and you can at least tolerate musicals – I think you’ll like it. It’s bright and bubbly and has way too much pink, but it is just silly enough to be a really happy musical. Almost all the songs are great for a laugh, but check out the duet Serious, it would be such a fun song to perform. One of my favourite musicals that I’ve never seen is I Love You, You’re Perfect, Now Change. It’s all about dating, relationships, marriage, kids, life. It goes full circle. Again, there’s some good duets, but one of my favourites is ‘A Stud and a Babe’ and it’s about two people who are not a stud and a babe and are having a horrible start to their date, but they decide to embrace those things about each other that are not attractive at all (like nail-biting and glued on hair, being whiny, and having no muscles or dumpy/lumpy hips).

It’s hard to choose a favourite musical, but I think I can say with certainty that I have the top 2 decided. In the #2 spot is Thoroughly Modern Millie, set in the 1920s about a girl who comes to New York City with the sole intent of getting a job working for a wealthy man and marrying her boss. And love has nothing to do with it. It’s super cheesy, feel-good fun that pretty much is exactly what one would think of it they were thinking of a musical. And the #1 musical goes to: Crazy For You by George and Ira Gershwin. I love George Gershwin. I wrote a paper on his ‘Rhapsody in Blue’ my second year at university. Makes me want to pick up the clarinet again. A lot of the songs in this musical are actually taken from other Gershwin shows, but they work so well together. ‘I Got Rhythm’, ‘Someone to Watch Over Me’, ‘Embraceable You’, ‘Slap That Bass’ to name a few. The story basically goes like this: boy’s Mother wants him to work in a bank and marry a certain girl. Boy wants to perform on Broadway. Boy auditions, but is constantly denied his time in the light. Mother sends boy out to Nevada (I’m pretty sure it’s Nevada) to foreclose on an old theatre. Boy gets to small town in Nevada and meets one of the only girls there. Girl’s Father owns theatre. Girl hates boy from bank before she meets him. Boy falls in love with girl. Girl discovers boy is there to close theatre and gets very angry at him. Boy is desperate to win her love and concocts a crazy plan that involves dressing up as Zangler, from Zangler’s Follies and convinces all his showgirl friends to come help him out so they can save the theatre. Girl falls in love with ‘Zangler’. Real Zangler shows up. Craziness ensues. Boy goes back to New York. Girl realizes that she actually loves boy. Boy comes back, finds out girl loves him, they kiss and dance, end of show. I actually think my voice is best suited to Gershwin, but maybe that’s just because I love singing the stuff from that show. Honestly, sometimes I can’t decide whether my dream role would be to play Millie Dilmount in Thoroughly Modern Millie or Polly Baker in Crazy For You, but then I remember how long I’ve loved Crazy and I know that if I had to choose, I would have to choose Polly Baker.

Wow, not sure when this post turned out to be all about musicals. Maybe it’s because I haven’t really indulged myself in musical theatre in a while and I miss it. Definitely have to get involved in Community Theatre when I get home!