It’s Beginning To Look A Lot Like Christmas

At least inside anyway. Today we put up the tree and other decorations around the house. Well, Adeline did most of it, but I did help with the tree. They got a fake one this year because it won’t take up quite as much space, nor make the same mess, because they’re having 50 people in for Christmas! It’s going to be crazy here. Crazy I tell you. But in a good way. The wind was blowing something fierce today and every time I heard it whistle – and when I wasn’t able to see outside – I always thought of snow. It had that sound to it. This morning it was rain. Last year was a fluke when they had snow for Christmas so I don’t know what this year will bring.

Bastien will be returning to school tomorrow. I’m glad he’s feeling better. At one point this evening Sylvain had quite a lot to say. And it was important. It required him ‘speaking’ at the top of his lungs for a few minutes. And of course he dropped his bottle on the floor, and other things. And I laughed. I know I shouldn’t – I don’t want him to think it’s ok – and most of the time I keep it hidden, but sometimes you just have to laugh or you’re going to react in a not so happy way.

So in honour of our day of decorating here’s a little Bing to get you in the mood:

*****

I can’t believe I almost forgot! Every year when I was growing up my Mom would play the same CD while decorating the tree. Well, she played more than one, but there’s one that always stuck out. Normally I don’t really like Dolly’s voice, but the CD Once Upon a Christmas with Dolly Parton and Kenny Rogers is a Christmas album I have to listen to every year. The holiday season is not complete for me if I don’t. So here’s the first song on the album. To quote on of my university music history professors, ‘it’s a toe tapper’!

                                                                                                                        

Want to see more pictures? Want to show your love?

Click here to visit my page on Facebook or check the sidebar to visit or Like Hollyjb.

© 2010-2011 hollyjb

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. 50 people! Oh my, I would have a meltdown, starting NOW! 😉

    Reply
    • Yeah…I don’t think the number’s really sunk in yet. We’ll get through it, it will just be a bit crazy for a while!

      Reply

Any thoughts? I'd love to hear them!

