Grandglise in the Fall

This is another one of those delayed posts. But there are pictures so that makes it all better ;).

Sunday, October 30:

We went to Adeline’s Grandma’s place in Grandglise for a late lunch. There was also a hunt that day. The hunters were out and about, doing their thing when we got there. When they got back we at, but this time in the basement. I met a whole bunch of new people, and saw some somewhat familiar faces. After lunch the hunters quick went out again and Adeline, the boys, and I went for a walk in the garden. I also got to take some really nice pictures of the trees in full colour. Some trees anyway. I now have pictures of this place in April, in May, in August, and now in October. It was my last visit because it gets closed up for the winter. It’s quite the interesting house. I’ve been enough times to feel familiar with certain areas. I think Sylvain had fun walking around.

After Grandglise we went to Louvain-la-Neuve to have supper at Sybille’s for Jean-Go’s birthday. I’m not sure if I mentioned that on the day of or not. Most likely ;).

One thing I do want to mention is the hunters’ attire. It was so different from what they wear at home. No reflective vests or camouflage – the colours were all muted browns and greens, but the cut was classy. They all wore similar outfits, like uniforms. Not that I’m around hunters that often, but I do know that no one in Canada (at least not around where I live) where’s the type of clothes these gentlemen (and ladies) were wearing. And then there were the dogs. Since they drove to wherever they were hunting from (or close to it), when they got back to the house most of the dogs were left in the vehicles, but there were quite a few. I know in the first round they took down a lot of birds. The second round brought more birds and a fawn (I think…that’s a baby deer right? :S).

I did make a few notes of things that Bastien said that day. I can’t believe I almost forgot to post them! These all took place in the car on the way there. At this time the sun was shining in all it’s autumn glory.

These are all paraphrased and translated the best I could do at the time.

Bastien: Next time there’s a lot of sun I want to wear my sunglasses so my eyes won’t turn yellow. 

Adeline: Why yellow?

Bastien: Because the sun is yellow. *Following this logic we determined that if the sun was blue your eyes would turn blue…*

~~~~~

Bastien: I have lots of muscles because I eat all my food, so I have lots of muscles. *His way of measuring ‘all my food’ must be different from ours…he hardly eats!*

~~~~~

Bastien: We’re going to a castle like the kind with knights and princesses because that’s where Granny Duchateau lives. *Of course château means a castle*

______________

For his birthday Jean received two card games from Adeline. Does everyone know the game Balderdash? The one where you’re given a word and then everyone writes down what they think the definition of the word is and the person who chose the word writes down the real definition (or something like that)? Then everyone reads them all and guesses which is the right one. Well, one of the games was something like that. We were in a circle (and then proceeded to play around the table during dessert). Adeline started. She read off what seemed to me to be an extremely long paragraph of stuff I didn’t understand. The gist was basically what was the name of this citrus juice-er made by these two guys. I think that was it. The next person (actually everyone) in the circle reads the card, but they get to read the answer. They decide if they want to read the real answer or make one up. By the time it gets back to the first person the real answer has to have been read. Then the person who read the question guesses what the real answer is. I skipped out on the first round. These games are challenging at the best of times, not to mention trying to work everything out in French. 😛

Eventually I joined in. Sometimes I needed repetitions of things, but most of that was just because it was harder for me to remember the responses because they were in French and I had no idea what they were. There was one near the end that was particularly amusing. I can’t remember what the word was, but it had the word ‘hero’ in it and so everyone’s answer was a superhero. Except for Adeline. She answered Yoda and I was confused. Then we read at the end the explanation of the word in the question. It was a word for someone who, well, someone who talks like Yoda. Of course for me unless I paid very close attention to the question I didn’t get that there was anything odd about it. If in English it would have been a lot more obvious for me. The funny part was Sybille’s comment at the end. The true answer had been revealed and things were discussed and explained and then all of a sudden she said ‘is he Flemish or what?’. Everyone burst out laughing. Nothing against you if you are Flemish. I’m afraid this is not a very funny recounting of the event at all. Oh well, I tried. I guess it was one of those ‘had to be there’ moments.

And now for the pictures!

Unfortunately I’m not the greatest photographer working with a not the greatest camera so the colours look washed out.

I have a thing for colourful leaves...

Forget two birds with one stone....I'll take a whole row of them!

And the hunters return.

Pumpkins!

Click here for the full album

                                                                                                                      

Want to see more pictures? Want to show your love?

Click here to visit my page on Facebook or check the sidebar to visit or Like Hollyjb.

© 2010-2011 hollyjb

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I abhor hunting, so I’ll focus on the very charming quotes you shared from those darling little boys. So sweet to see the world from the eyes of a child… 🙂

    Reply
    • I try not to think about hunting too much. But I’m too much a fan of meat to give it up, lol. And it’s true, children see things in the most interesting ways!

      Reply

Any thoughts? I'd love to hear them!

