Halloween in Wasseiges

Halloween in the North American sense (Trick or Treating and costumes and the like) is a relatively new thing over here. It’s only in the last 15 years or so that they’ve done it I guess. Before that they just dressed up at Carnaval. So, the Trick or Treating tonight was pretty slow. I guess there was something at the school at 6 and before Adeline, Greg, Sybille, and the boys left for that two girls showed up for candy. Then a little over an hour later it was Bastien at the door. He decided he was finished for the night so the group piled in and we put some pizza’s in the oven for supper. Just as we were finishing up the doorbell rang. There were 4 little kids there…followed by two more and then by two more after that. And that was it. Nothing else. Adeline had put a round table in the hallway and placed a pumpkin with the candy inside on the table along with a humidifier (one of those one’s that change colours and make that cool mist). To add to the effect I had the lights out and my Planets CD playing.

I even sort of dressed up. Not as anything in particular, but I had a scarf on my head and one on my shoulders and used the same shirt I used to dress up as a pirate for Carnaval. I got really sleepy sitting in the dark. I even tested the doorbell a couple of times to make sure I could hear it over the music, afraid that I had missed some kids. Bastien didn’t want to dress up, but they managed to get a pirate head scarf on Sylvain. Unfortunately I didn’t get a picture of that. He doesn’t much like things on his head. I think the only reason his hat stays on is because of the ear flaps – it’s harder for him to take it off!

Another warm day. Actually, a perfect evening for Trick or Treating. It’s cooler now, but it is 10pm. Not only is this week a school holiday, tomorrow is a national holiday – Toussaint (All Saint’s Day). And Jean-Gobert’s birthday! For me that means it’s like a weekend, I don’t have to get up as early. Bastien was still wide awake an hour ago (and talking to himself) so hopefully he’ll sleep longer tomorrow. All that remains to be seen is if Sylvain will sleep longer…

                                                                                                                      

Want to see more pictures? Want to show your love?

Click here to visit my page on Facebook or check the sidebar to visit or Like Hollyjb.

© 2010-2011 hollyjb

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Ooh … all that uneaten candy is tempting … at least for me … 🙂

    Reply
    • I know! Even when you’re sick of it and don’t want it you still just nibble on it b/c it’s there, lol.

      Reply
  2. I know the feeling–waiting around for the little goblins to show up disrupts your evening. You can’t start anything that requires your attention because you’re either interrupted or always on alert. 😉

    Reply

Any thoughts? I'd love to hear them!

