Pirates, pirate clowns, and pirate circus performers; my first experience of LLN’s 24h Velo!

This afternoon I met Adeline, Aurore, Bastien, and Clémence in Louvain-la-Neuve for the children’s portion of the 24 hour Velo (bike) celebrations. Lots of beer drinking going on, but not by me. They had games and activities for the kids to do, all with pirate/sea themes. Then they had a show. I think all the sections were split by residences (kots). First was a big dance/fight scene to music from Pirates of the Caribbean. Then came clown pirates. After that it was the ‘circus’ performers. These are all students and it seemed to me like some of them might have aspirations to join something like Cirque du Soleil or something. I couldn’t see much because I’m short and there were lots of people in front of me, but I did some raise your arm above your head and shoot filming. I haven’t watched them to see if they turned out. The first one, with the dancers, was the longest (a few minutes anyway). Yeah, then I realized that I wasn’t actually filming. Insert d’oh – >_< – moment here. They all looked like they were having a lot of fun.

Tonight for supper I experimented and it turned out quite tasty. It was just cut up sausages mixed with rice and frozen peas. Adeline noticed that most of the dishes I make are all mixed together in one pan. It’s totally true. If I can make it on a stove top with a pot of water or a pan I’m good to go. Anything else and I get nervous. Even though leaving something cooking in the oven requires less constant attention. Hmm. I’m looking forward to trying to slow cooker recipes out once I get back home. Which one’s I have no idea, but I’ll find something. Oh! Chili!! Yes, slow cooker chili topped with shredded cheddar cheese. Mmmmm ^_^.

Here are just a couple of videos of contortionists because I think it looks really cool:

                                                                                                                      

Want to see more pictures? Want to show your love?

Click here to visit my page on Facebook or check the sidebar to visit or Like Hollyjb.

© 2010-2011 hollyjb

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. The most tasty things are often the simple to make. I never use a cookbook–just throw things together and it usually turns out great. Unless I’m baking, I just use my imagination…Keep having more fun that you’re allowed to have Holly! 🙂

    Reply
    • If I don’t generally use a recipe I’ll forget all about seasoning and flavour, lol. I have no idea what spices go with what and all that. Maybe once I get a bit more experience under my belt I’ll feel more adventurous and confident in the kitchen! And I’ll do my best with the fun thing ;).

      Reply
  2. ahh, the taste of circus

    Reply
  3. Any show with Pirates of the Caribbean music to it makes it epic 😉
    Sound like fun =D

    Reply
    • It would have been more fun if I could have seen what was going on. Meh. It was cool all the same. There was even a dance mix-ish version of POTC. It was actually kind of cool.

      Reply
  4. I love one pot cooking. The sausages, peas and rice sound yummy 🙂 I hope you post the vids you took 🙂

    Reply
    • It was yummy. I just added a beef bouillon cube for flavour. For me it was ok, but for European standards it may have been a little bland, lol.

      That reminds me – I still have to mash up those folk dances…hmmm. I should get on that…..

      Reply

Any thoughts? I'd love to hear them!

