This should tide you over…

So today was our mini trip to France! Of course this post isn’t going to be about that because I actually wrote it yesterday. Instead I’m going to search out a couple of YouTube videos and put them on here. Stay tuned later in the week/weekend for extended posts about Bruges/Ypres and Vimy!

Below is one of the 2 versions of the poem set to music In Flanders Fields by John McCrae (1915) that I sang in high school. It’s my favourite version of the 4 or 5 I’ve heard so far. This isn’t very good video quality and it’s a duet, not 4 parts, but it gets the point across and is better than the one choir I heard. I don’t know the arranger so I just had to listen to as many videos of In Flanders Fields that I could find.

This is another version I found which is so beautiful. Especially the beginning. Like I mentioned above the poem was written (in the trenches, or near them) in 1915 by Lieutenant Colonel John McCrae, MD (1872-1918)Canadian Army.

                                                                                                                    

Want to see more pictures? Want to show your love?

Click here to visit my page on Facebook or check the sidebar to visit or Like Hollyjb.

© 2010-2011 hollyjb

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Very nice. Looking forward to hearing about the Paris Adventures… 🙂

    Reply
    • I think I already posted about Paris when we went this summer, lol. Lucie went to Paris when we were done for the day, but I didn’t this time. We were in the Northern region of France. I look forward to posting about it!

      Reply

Any thoughts? I'd love to hear them!

