Do those white lines mean nothing to you?

This morning I went to Louvain-la-Neuve to pick up a few things. I managed to get a parking spot where I was on the end so I could back in instead of try to parallel park (which I am worse at now then when I got my license) and I was right at the line so the person behind me would be able to get out and someone else would have room to get in. What do I find when I get back to my car? Someone is parked in front of me! In fact, they were blocking part of a drive-way. And in doing so they were so close to me that I could barely get out. I actually (very lightly) bumped into the person behind me and I still just skimmed past the car in front. I was not impressed. Not at all.

So my weather prediction based on sun and sky colour last night was totally off. It was grey and drizzly all day today, but not too cold, even with the wind. When my family was here we bought a piggy bank for Bastien – one that was white that you paint and we decorated it for him. I went today to get one for Sylvain (whose going to be a year old in just over a month!) and they didn’t have them. They had other stuff, but I didn’t pick anything up. I have to talk to my family and see what they think. I’ll go back, or go to another location and check it out again. Here’s hoping.

I went into this book store and came out with more than intended. I bought a map of Belgium – I want to be able to see all the country at once and mark where I’ve been. I think that will be a cool souvenir. I bought a short novel, under 8 Euros and not that long. I also bought a book called It’s raining cats and dogs: et autres expressions idiomatiques anglais. It’s a short little phrase book meant for French speaker learning English, but I figured it was just as good the other way around. It just lists phrases (French then English) and their translations. These are phrases that can’t be translated word for word. Actually, some are very similar and some are so very different. Did you know that when we say we ‘I have a frog in my throat’ in French they say ‘I have a cat in my throat’? I think it’s a cat. On the back cover it mentions Britain, Australia, and the US and when a phrase is specific to a country it will be marked GB or US…I don’t think they mark the Australian one’s, but sometimes you can tell. Some of the phrases that are in the book are as foreign to me as to a French speaker! I think some are outdated….or they’re just not marked and are from GB or US. I don’t know. With it came a free game book for learning English. I checked out a few pages and is it bad that on one of the pages I actually didn’t know what to fill in (the English)? It gives you little _ _ _ _ _  _ _ _ to fill in the missing words, but the number of ticks and what I thought the answer was didn’t match up. I was confused. I was also just glancing at it. It’s kind of interesting to look at things from the other direction.

I spent a while this afternoon going over (again) rules for declaring stuff and how much stuff I can bring back tax-free. If you’re out of the country for 7 days you can bring back $750 CAN worth of stuff. If you’re gone for longer than 7 days (say, for example, a year) you can bring back tax-free…you guessed it! $750 CAN. I think that’s ridiculous. When you’re gone for a year you’re bound to buy things. Some of the stuff I just bought here because I had the money to buy it! So tomorrow I have to go through all my stuff and receipts and see what my situation is. If you’re sending gifts to people those are tax free. If you bring gifts with you for other people that’s included in the $750. So are gifts from other people to you. If I ship stuff home before me, or it arrives after me, I still have to declare it. I can bring whatever I want back (as long as it’s not restricted), or whatever amount I want back, just if it equals over $750 I have to pay tax on the extra. I’m just in the freak out stage because I don’t want to mess anything up and I’m sure that if they decide to search someone’s luggage it’s going to be me and they’ll find something I forgot to declare and I’ll get carted off and ah! I know I’ll have to pay the tax, but if they’re not in a good mood…. Can you tell I’ve never done this before?

Greg and I finally got around to continuing our viewing of The Pacific. Now we only have 3 more episodes to go!

                                                                                                                      

Want to see more pictures? Want to show your love?

Click here to visit my page on Facebook or check the sidebar to visit or Like Hollyjb.

© 2010-2011 hollyjb

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Life continues to be busy. It sounds like you are trying to pack things in before you leave because the sense of leaving is overtaking the sense of being there…

    Reply
    • I never thought of it like that before, but that makes sense. I just have a bad habit of leaving things till the last minute and since this is important I don’t want to be stuck having missed something. I know I’ll be fine, but I tend to worry over unknown experiences.

      Reply

Any thoughts? I'd love to hear them!

