On stranger tides….

Yes. I totally ripped that off. Thank you Walt Disney and your Pirates of the Caribbean franchise (which I think needed to stop at 3 and that might have even gone too far). We just watched the 4th instalment tonight and while I was entertained I wasn’t as enthralled as I was the first time around with Captain Jack. He gets less interesting each film…I still love that character, just, you can really have too much of a good thing*.

This morning I had a total fail. Alarm was set to go for my walk. I woke up, then hit the snooze, this time with the alarm right next to me. I really have to stop it with the snooze button. Next thing I know it’s 8am and no one was knocking on my door! I was all panicked. Greg had to leave early this morning and since I didn’t come upstairs Adeline decided to do a ‘test’ run to see how it would work when I’m not here, when Greg has to leave early, and she has to get the boys ready herself. It worked out fine of course, but I still felt bad. I’ve slept in far too much this year. After breakfast and all was in readiness I drove Sylvain to Catherine’s (babysitter).

The morning flew by, spent, once again, at my computer. There are things in the works. Exciting things. Somewhat stress causing things. Things that will cause me to actively do something things. Those kind of things. Have I said the word things enough yet? I say stress causing because I’m a big wuss when it comes to stepping out of my ‘comfort zone’. How did you manage to get on a plane to Europe then?’ one may ask. If I hadn’t known my host family before coming here I honestly don’t think I could have done it. Once I’m in a situation and am either used to it, or just forced to adapt and push through, I’m ok. It’s the worry, wonder, and anxiety leading up to said situation that causes me stress. I really hope that I’m not building this up only to let you down. I won’t say anything for certain until the important details are finalized, but for me, it’s exciting.

This afternoon Adeline had to stay at the house to meet someone so I took Bastien to Little Gym. He’s old enough now (thank goodness, I would have been lost) that the parents don’t have to be in with his group. So I dropped him off, went to the grocery store to pick up some shower gel, then went back to watch him in action. I also think I have the 2 songs picked that I’m going to focus on in my small presentation on Monday. I’m probably over thinking it and making it into a bigger deal than it actually is, but I don’t have much to go on. Bastien fell asleep on the way to Namur. I wanted him to be awake enough to walk himself inside so I tried waking him up before we got there. The windows were all open a bit – did I forget to mention that it was 27° (C) today! – and he didn’t hear me. Even when I yelled. I ended up whistling (thanks Mom for teaching me that; now if only I could do it without my fingers…) and he woke up with a start. I kind of felt bad. Then he nodded off again. Again, he only woke with the piercing whistle. I had to whistle 3 times to get him to stay awake. Poor kid. He’s used to taking his nap around that time. That reminds me…the back windows in my car are open.

When we got home Bastien still had all kinds of energy and wanted to play outside. Good idea. We have to take advantage of this beautiful weather while we can! While I was helping him get all ready Adeline brought this boy out back. I’m really bad with ages, but he might have been about 12, 13? Bah, I don’t know. He’s a Scout and I guess he’s trying to make money for something to do with Scouting so he asked if there was anything he could do. Fortunately the grass needed cutting so he did that. I remember those days. Cutting my elderly neighbour’s yard for money. Mind you, her yard was a lot bigger than here…and so was our yard! I think it used to take 5 or so hours with a push mower to mow all our grass. I might be exaggerating, but it took a long time. Of our 12.5 acres, most of that is field, but we had a lot of grass. We have a little less now because of the new garage, big flower beds, ‘pool house’ (we used to have a pool). It’s still a lot of grass. Now we have a riding lawn mower and my Mom does it most of the time. I think I’ve used that thing once or twice… They say nothing runs like a Deere, but I don’t think I’ll ever get the hang of that thing. Give me a push mower any day.

I keep forgetting to mention something! Bastien goes through times when he wants nothing to do with me and he won’t say hello or goodbye. But when pressed (because it’s the polite thing to do) he would eventually cave and give me a cheek peck goodbye. Lately he hasn’t been doing that. Instead he sends me ‘flying kisses’. This isn’t that new, but it’s a little more consistent right now. In some ways I feel like it’s our little ‘thing’, but I know it’s not. He’ll blow me a kiss and immediately place his hand on his cheek to ‘catch’ mine. So I have to make sure I send him one at the same time his comes my way, and then remember to ‘catch’ it. It’s adorable to watch. Also today before gym he said he had a sore stomach. Well, since magic kisses are the best cure-all he kissed his hand, lifted up his shirt, and touched his stomach! This isn’t the first time he’s done it, but it’s the first time I saw it and I couldn’t help the little chuckle that escaped.

I received another wonderful surprise today. I will act on it, but not today, and most likely not tomorrow. I want to take the time to do it right. I feel like I rushed it before, but I don’t regret it. If you’re curious and haven’t figured out what I’m talking about you can go visit Lafemmeroar to find out what it is. If I say any more it’s going to get really mushy around here :P.

*The blog Bound By Books and her post on how too much of your favourite thing can make it not your favourite thing.

                                                                                                                    

Want to see more pictures? Want to show your love?

Click here to visit my page on Facebook or check the sidebar to visit or Like Hollyjb.

© 2010-2011 hollyjb

Next Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. What gives? Leaving me in suspense like that?

    I wonder if Bastien is going through a phase or if he knows you’re leaving…interesting.

    Reply
    • You do it all the time :P.

      I think it”s a phase. He has lots of those. It could be much worse. Thankfully his brother is so chill, lol.

      Reply
  1. The dates are set… « hollyjb

Any thoughts? I'd love to hear them!

