To nap or not to nap – that is the question.

Whenever I take a nap I always wake up feeling more tired than when I laid down. I’m going to try to dredge up what little common sense I have and say it’s probably because when I’m tired enough to warrant napping I need more than 2 or 3 hours to actually get to a point of feeling rested. In that little time frame you just get into a good sleep rhythm (you would hope) and then you’re up. I did indeed take a nap this afternoon and I managed to wake up after one hour and then again after a second. I had to be on the lookout because it was just me and the boys today and the baby phone in Sylvain’s room right now doesn’t always work. And lately he’s been waking up who knows when and just sitting calmly in his bed. If he’s not crying we don’t hear him with this baby phone.

This morning – while Sylvain was down for nap #1 – Bastien and I spent some time outside. We drew picture on the pathway with sidewalk chalk. He asked me to draw everyone. I tried, but it didn’t turn out very well. A combination of little artistic talent in the drawing department and bulky chalk leads to iffy stick-figure-with-big-round-head-people. Bastien was calmer today than he’s been the past few days. He did get a little excited a few times, but there was very little inside screaming and no-reason crying.

Lately Sylvain’s been doing something that I find really cute/funny. I mean, yeah, he’s a baby what do you expect? But seriously; he’ll start crawling towards you and then all of a sudden he’ll flop down on his stomach and just look at you. It’s like he’s imitating soldiers crawling across the ground trying to keep low. It might just be because he’s in his pj’s all day and since they’re all soft and stuff he doesn’t have much traction on the wood floors. Only, he does it on the carpet as well. I took a few more pictures of his ‘Einstein’ hair – he’s getting it cut Saturday. I’m kind of sad to see it go. It is getting long though. He’s got wings and a mow-hawk all at the same time.

By the way – welcome Fall! I completely forgot yesterday. Maybe because it’s been fall-like most of the month. When it comes to the seasons, I don’t have a set favourite. It always changes…usually based on the season we’re in! Fall is up there; I just love the brilliant colours of the leaves as they change and the crispness to the air. Maybe it has something to do with back to school even though most of the time it still feels like summer when school starts. Even though I don’t want to be in school anymore I always loved the beginning of every year. I’m thankful in that I can find something to like about every season, every type of weather. I think the weather is actually one of the things I complain the least about. I do have moments when I wish the next season would just get here, but for the most part I’m content all year round.

What’s your favourite season?

                                                                                                                       

Want to see more pictures? Want to show your love?

Click here to visit my page on Facebook or check the sidebar to visit or Like Hollyjb.

© 2010-2011 hollyjb

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Autumn is by far my favorite season, followed by winter. I like cool, dark days.

    As for napping, it’s rare for me even if I only get a couple of hours of sleep at night. I dislike the groggy feeling. Who needs to be dizzy and groggy? 😉

    Reply
    • I’m with you on the dizzy and groggy. And also that achy feeling you get when you’re sick, I feel like that sometimes after I nap. Cool, dark days/nights curled up by a fire, or by a softly lit Christmas tree in a log cabin that feels all warm and cozy….can you tell I’m missing my old house?

      Reply

Any thoughts? I'd love to hear them!

