A, B, C, D…

We were sort of under the impression that the French course hadn’t started yet because they didn’t have a teacher. Well, it’s the same teacher as last year so I don’t know what the hold up was. Last year the beginner class was on Monday nights. This year course A (beginner) is on Thursday nights. I have moved up to class B which is held on Mondays. So for me everything is the same minus some different classmates. They’re supposed to be at least 3 other people from my class last year that have moved up, but they weren’t there today. We basically went through introducing ourselves and we all had to make sure we paid attention because we were asked to repeat the answers when Madame Colette (I’m not sure if that’s how her name is spelled, but that’s what I’m sticking to) would ask us. Thankfully, including me, there were only 6 of us. We also went through numbers and the vocabulary for things like week, millennium, day after tomorrow, century, etc.

For me the most interesting part was when we were given a sheet that I had the International Phonetic Alphabet symbols. We also went over the alphabet. I had to read it through and this may seem like a very simple task, but when an ‘e’ is pronounced like the ‘oo’ in book, and ‘i’ is pronounced ‘e’, ‘j’ is a soft ‘ji’, and ‘g’ is a soft ‘jay’ it can get confusing. Of course I’ve said the alphabet in French many times in my life, but it’s been a while. I felt like I was back in 2nd year university sitting in my Vocal Diction class with Les De’Ath sounded out all the intricate vowel sounds that are foreign to English speakers. For the life of me I can never make the ‘u’ sound (IPA symbol ‘y’) properly. Ever. I’ve sung it countless times, I know what shape to make with my mouth (a tight ‘oh’ shape while saying ‘oo’ in book again…the symbol is an upside down ‘e’), but I can never get it right when I’m trying to speak. I think part of it is trying to get it to work with the ‘r’s, and the ‘oh’s and everything else. On its own as a sound I can do it, but in a word, forget it! It’s going to be the bane of my French forever.

Bastien also went to school today. He won’t be going tomorrow, or at all this week, and Adeline will be staying home as well. They’re both sick, sore throats and the like. I’m the only one who hasn’t gotten sick yet….what do I have an immune system made of steel or something? I don’t know, I just hope they all get better soon and I can still make it through without catching anything. I guess that Vitamin C is helping!

Today has been quite the day. I’ve smiled so much my cheeks hurt. Part of it was Sylvain. Even though he still cries when he has to go through all his chicken pox stuff I was able to get him laughing instead of crying and we had quite the gay old time. Plus with the blog award I was nominated for and everything – all the wonderful comments I’ve received from those I nominated and the new people I’ve connected with from being nominated myself, it’s just an amazing feeling. I realize not everything is all sunshine and rainbows in the blogging world, but I’m on a high right now and I don’t feel like coming down any time soon.

Thanks to all the old-faithfuls who continue to follow me through cyber space. Thanks to all my new connections for joining in my adventure and at the same time I’m excited to join you in yours. I hope everyone had as good a day as I did. Thanks for taking the time to visit!

                                                                                                                       

Want to see more pictures? Want to show your love?

Click here to visit my page on Facebook or check the sidebar to visit or Like Hollyjb.

© 2010-2011 hollyjb

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Your discussion of difficulties with pronunciation in French class reminds me of my experience growing up with a mother who came from Paris, France. No matter how hard I try to say a word “properly” in French, she corrects me. I swear I say it exactly like she does, but she insists of correcting me. I picked Spanish for my language in college! 😉

    Reply
    • I know what you mean! About the swearing you’re saying it right… That was why in first year Music they put us in groups and we had to speak the words in rhythm to each other and then make corrections. And in Diction class too we all sounded everything out. My ear doesn’t always hear all the little nuances. We can’t all be Henry Higgins! I took Spanish for two year in high school and one term in uni. Then I decided to embrace a bit of my background so I took German for two years in uni. Now I forget most of both a)b/c of time and b) b/c my head is filled with French!

      Reply

Any thoughts? I'd love to hear them!

