Maybe more like Edward Scissor Hands…?

Today at breakfast Greg made the comment that Sylvain kind of looks like Edward Scissor Hands and I realized good old Edward was more what I was looking to match Einstein with yesterday. Poor guy. His hair makes it look like he’s in a play and trying to look old…like Benjamin Button or something. I swear he has more spots than Bastien. He’s actually covered. His legs not so much, there are some, but it’s his torso and face that have the most. Around his eyes too which can’t be nice. There are a few on his back and a few on his chest that are quite big and look like if you touch them they’ll pop open. To top it all off he’s still teething. He still only has the one tooth, but there have been signs that more are on their way. We’ll see. There’s been false alarms before! All I know is that by supper time he was so tired, had a fever, and all those bumpy spots. He napped this morning, but not really this afternoon and by the time I got him in his pj’s and he ate his bottle he looked exhausted. He wasn’t falling asleep in his chair, but once I put him to bed I didn’t hear a peep out of him.

It was a full house today. Everyone was home. Greg talked to his mother today and we found out that he might not have had chicken pox as a kid. Uh oh. Adeline is getting sick now, so far it’s just me who isn’t. Let’s hope it stays that way. I think I should grab a carton of orange juice from the basement and chug it! Get some more vitamins in me. The morning passed normally and around lunchtime Adeline took the boys grocery shopping and I made soup. Yes it’s the same soup that I wrote about back in January so it’s super easy, but this time I did it totally without supervision. I didn’t have enough water in it though. That’s better than too much which is what I normally do. Greg had a point; right now it doesn’t take up as much space to store and the next time we go to eat it we can add more water.

After our late lunch we all went down for a nap. Well, I know the kids did and I flopped down in my room. I wasn’t planning on sleeping, but I did on and off for about 3 hours. During this time Adeline also took a nap, but Sylvain woke up so he was with Greg. I guess it’s a good thing, sleep is important and I really don’t want to get sick. I made a comment that all the germs were upstairs because everyone who sleeps upstairs has gotten sick.

Tonight I watched Bienvenue chez les Ch’tis (or in English Welcome to the Sticks). Greg and Adeline said it was funnier than Rien à Déclarer, and it sure was funny, but I think I liked Rien à Déclarer better. Maybe it’s because I saw it first. The movie is about a Post Office Administrator who worked really hard to get a promotion to move the southern sea-side (in France) and doesn’t get it. He applies for another one, but says he’s handicapped (they gave the first transfer to a handicapped person – that’s why he does it). He’s found out and is ‘banished’ to the North. The stereotypes are slightly different (ie. no igloos), but think of all the stereotypes Americans have about Canadians and you’ll understand. It’s always freezing, they always drink beer, they’re basically uncouth rednecks (to use a familiar term), etc, etc. They also speak a dialect of French called Chtimi. Replace ‘S’ with ‘SH’ and a bunch of other things. It might as well be another language! Because of this and because of the speed it was harder for me to try to follow the French than it was for the other film, but I did catch a few things. There was one subtitle discrepancy in particular that I caught, but when I had a chance to think about it, it made sense. They were talking about an office. Because of the dialect in the subtitles it was spelled something like offish. Then they kept putting ‘offish’ and ‘fish’ and ‘offish’ and ‘fish’ and I was confused because they were clearly saying ‘chien’ (dog). However they were saying ‘office’ in the movie sounded (to the guy from southern France) like ‘chien’ and there was all kinds of confusion. Which is part of whats so funny. So while I was confused based on what I was hearing and what I was reading at the time, it makes sense now. Watching “foreign” films when you actually speak some of the language can be trying sometimes because the subtitles don’t always actually reflect the literal translation. Or the translation that you know. I definitely had many ‘laugh out very loud’ moments. I kept apologizing after them because I was afraid I was going to wake the boys up! I’m sure if I laughed as loud with the other movie, but I still like that one better. I can now say with certainty that I am a Dany Boon fan. At least his comedy. I haven’t watched him in anything other than that.

So that was my day. Full of laughter near the end. How was yours?

                                                                                                                       

Want to see more pictures? Want to show your love?

Click here to visit my page on Facebook or check the sidebar to visit or Like Hollyjb.

© 2010-2011 hollyjb

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. How about a case of poison ivy and insomnia? I feel a bit like a haggard Einstein/Edward Scissor-Hands myself! I don’t dare look in the mirror to verify, though…:|

    Reply
  2. My day not to shabby.
    Jade is sick, so I feel ya with the sickness stuff. Which hers is just allergies and cutting in molars so this mommy is up and down all night.

    Reply
    • I’m fortunate in that I get to sleep through the night and if I don’t it’s not because of a baby. I’m taking Vitamin C now b/c I really don’t want to get sick! Glad you had a good day other than being tired and with a sick Jade. 😀

      Reply
      • It is always a good day to be able to wake up and see people you love. Upping your intake of Vitamin C isn’t a bad idea 🙂 and of course washing your hands all the time. Hope the sickness runs away soon.

        Reply

Any thoughts? I'd love to hear them!

