Oldies, but goodies.

 

Today started out like any other day. But then there were some extra people here this morning (of which I only met one because I went upstairs with the boys) looking at the boiler because I guess there’s some odd problem with it. Another difference was that Bastien only asked for a movie twice! I told him he could have one after his nap and he seemed content with that. We spent a couple of hours listening to an Henri Des CD. I have to say, his music is quite entertaining (even though it’s meant for kids). I find a lot of his songs catchy.

Lunch was, well, it was different. Different because Bastien was very calm and it was Sylvain who was acting out. I think he was pretty tired. He did have a nap this morning, but we ate a little late so I don’t know. They both took a decent length nap this afternoon which gave me time to chill and watch some Criminal Minds. What I really need to do while they’re napping is clean my room. It’s not as bad as when there were two of us living in here, but it needs a good vacuum. And the couch is covered in clean laundry that needs to be folded. I have to go through and organize some clothes as well. Like my shorts and capris – I doubt I’ll be wearing them anymore. It got up in the low 20°s today, but I think it’s going to be ‘pant’ season from here on out.

Adeline got home while we were watching the movie (Rango  again) and Greg a little after here. They left before it was finished to go to a birthday party. So it was just the boys and I for supper. First though was baths. Sylvain was extra exuberant in there tonight.  Adeline had bought mini-cucumbers for Bastien and he had two! He loves cucumbers and pickles. We had left over turkey from last night, salad, and I put some potato balls in the oven. I actually almost forgot about that part – potatoes/rice/etc. – and then I remembered the potatoes in the freezer and through a few in the oven. They weren’t ready when we sat down so I used them to get Bastien to eat his turkey. And Sylvain has more new pj’s! The one’s I put on him tonight are green and a dark grey with Tigger on them. Cute ^_^. Two piece pj’s are good right now. I didn’t have any problems getting them to bed which was good because I had Skype plans.

I Skype’d with a friend of mine from high school who spent some time studying in Quebec and working in Normandy, France. We talked a bit in French. At least we have each other to practice with! I got to say hello to her Dad as well. We talked about how pretty much everyone from our high school group (which wasn’t very big to begin with) is all over the place. Our one friend moved to the States (where he husband is from), another is in Hamilton for school, another is all over the place (between Canada, the USA, and Europe working with horses), one in Toronto, another in Law school in London, England…and she might be leaving for co-op. She thinks she’ll still be around by the time I get back, but will be leaving sometime in January (if she gets a position). I still have a lot of other friends in the area, but that group of us from high school has really drifted apart. I guess that’s life. We all have drastically different interests, in some ways it’s a wonder we’re still friends or became friends in the first place. Obviously we have things in common, but you know. I’m glad we’re still friends though and I know that this won’t be the last time I’ll see them. We just might have more ‘online’ type friendships in the future. Steph and I have another Skype ‘date’ set for the 26th. We’re going to try to make it a regular thing. It was really nice to see her and talk with her.

So that was my day and I’m not sure how I’m going to end it; a movie, more tv? Or bed? It’s a tough decision!

 

                                                                                                                       

Want to see more pictures? Want to show your love?

Click here to visit my page on Facebook or check the sidebar to visit or Like Hollyjb.

© 2010-2011 hollyjb

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I have a hard time thinking of anyone relaxing by watching “Criminal Minds” but that’s just me!

    I never tried Skype, but I hear it’s all the rage. It must be great for you to “connect” with friends you haven’t seen in so long…

    Reply
    • Haha, I never thought of that. You have a point. I guess in a way it’s just doing something I want to do. I’ve seen most of the episodes before I’m just trying to watch all the seasons in order and I can’t remember exactly where I left off. If it’s one I really don’t want to watch again I skip it, otherwise I’ll just re-watch it. Sometimes I think it’s a little odd that some of favourite shows are crime shows (Criminal Minds, NCIS, I like Bones, I used to watch the C.S.I.s [NY being my favourite of the 3]) when I have no interest in pursuing any kind of career in law enforcement or have any plans to become a criminal myself.

      Skype can be a pain when one or both computers are slow/have slow internet, but it can be really awesome too. Twice (once with each of my parent’s families) they’ve hooked the computer up to a big screen TV so everyone there could see and hear me. In a way that seems odd because my head must have been huge……

      Reply

Any thoughts? I'd love to hear them!

