Turtle Ice cream Cake

I bet some of you are thinking about Turtles (the chocolates) now! This wasn’t a ‘Turtles’ ice cream cake, it was just an ice cream cake made to look like a turtle. The body was ice cream (coffee flavoured) and the shell, legs, and head were made out of marzipan. The reason for said cake was because we had Dominique and Stella over for lunch today. Dominique’s birthday was yesterday. And next weekend is the big party! Lots of dancing. I’m not very good at ‘free-styling’. I’m decent at choreography. I look really silly though when I dance. I always feel like I’m working a lot harder than it looks like I’m working. When I was little I took ballet and jazz. While I figure skated I did some off-ice dance. In university I took a Musical Theatre dance class at my old studio and then went on to do two years of tap there. I also took 3 semesters of jazz at university. That was super fun and I loved my teacher (she was also one of the choreographers for the musical theatre club which is how I met here and got up the nerve to join her class in the first place!). Honestly, dancing (a dance class anyway) is my favourite form of exercise. Adeline gave me this program for a town near here that has dance, guitar, potter, acting classes, etc., and I’m thinking about joining one. Except that the one’s I’m most interested in are Monday nights. They start at 7, but I’m only ending my class at 7. Adeline said that maybe I’ll be put into a different class this term because of my level. Let’s hope so, because it would be really interesting to take a Contemporary dance class. Although that one who have to pay for the full year it doesn’t give a semester option so we’ll see what happens. Woah, everybody say it with me: off topic much? Let’s just say, now I want a Dairy Queen ice cream cake :(.

I can’t believe I almost forgot this. It’s actually the best reason for mentioning the cake in the first place! So like I said, it was in the shape of a turtle. Dominique mentioned that there was also a cow and a lady-bug. Bastien – who likes lady-bugs – asked why he got a turtle…or why he didn’t get a lady bug. I was doing other stuff, so I’m not sure. Regardless of how the question was phrased, this was Dominique’s answer (paraphrased): ‘Well Bastien, you know how lady bugs fly?’ (I’m imagining a nod from Bastien here) ‘And cows, they can run away’ (another nod maybe) ‘but turtles, turtles are very slow. That’s why I got a turtle so it couldn’t escape!’. That was the general gist of the conversation. And children are supposed to be the one’s with the active imaginations! I don’t think I would have come up with a story like that in his situation.

We had a lot of fun watching Bastien draw Dominique, Adeline, and Greg. I think I may have mentioned this before, but let me refresh your memory. When Bastien draws people (when he’s not drawing ladders) they always have a very large head. Small stick legs and arms that come out of the head, ears, eyes (sometimes 2, sometimes 4), the occasional nose (which looks just like the eyes – a dot – and is sometimes right in between them), and a mouth. And a little bit of hair. I always think Mr. Potato Head in these instances. I must say though, Bastien draws very good circles/ovals.

Dominique also came up with something to do when Bastien constantly asks to watch a cartoon; he kept asking him if he had heard of a certain story. After about 4 or 5 times Bastien asked him – forcefully – to stop saying that all the time. Dominique said then Bastien needed to stop asking for a cartoon all the time. It didn’t sink in. I tried a somewhat different spin on this, but it backfired on me. When he’s in a certain mood he loves giving hugs and kisses. When Bastien is tired or in another type of mood, he won’t do that if his life depended on it. So when he started asking for a cartoon again and everyone else was talking I asked for a hug. And I kept asking for a hug until he started to complain. Then I kept asking. This stopped and he played for a bit. Then he started asking for a cartoon again so I asked for a hug, but this time he gave me one! While it was nice it didn’t help prove my point. He doesn’t understand the concept of not always getting what you want, but really, what 3-year-old does?

Before supper was bath time. Sylvain kept standing up and of course putting everything in his mouth. When Bastien was his age he liked building things. Sylvain just breaks them (block towers and the like). Sylvain also puts more things in his mouth than Bastien did. Bastien is fine in the bath until you go to wash him. He doesn’t like getting his head wet. I’m not sure if it’s that or if it’s just the shower head. He doesn’t like getting water in his eyes and mouth, obviously, but it’s his own fault because he won’t keep them closed even when we’re not finished. And you give him fair warning every time and wait till he has them closed. I say ‘keep them closed, keep them closed’, but he’ll open them and then he’ll cry. Today when I started soaping his hair he started crying. So I said ‘ok. You can stay in the bath all night by yourself, I’m leaving with Sylvain. If and when you’re ready to get washed you can call me’. The next thing I heard was ‘I have to poo!’. I’ve decided never to fall for this again. So, I went into the bathroom, cleared out all the toys from the tub (with cries of ‘I want to play, I want to play!’ and told him he could stay in there until he was ready to get washed and if he poo’d that would be his own problem. I explained that every single time he says he has to poo while in the bath he never does. All that happens is the floor gets all wet and time is wasted. I left him alone again, no toys, hair full of soap, lights out (there was still light from the window) and then he called again. At least I think he called, I don’t think I went in there on my own. I can’t even remember! Eventually his ‘trial’ was over and he was in his pjs.

During supper Sylvain fell asleep. One moment he was wanting another cookie, the next Adeline looked over and he was asleep! Normally he’s so quiet (unless he’s really tired, hungry, or needs a change) you can forget he’s there, and this was one of those times. It was cute. He woke up a little when Adeline put him to bed, but it didn’t take long for him to fall back asleep. Tonight I actually read Bastien his bedtime story. And yes, he did correct me a few times, but it’s helpful.

Wait! This morning Bastien helped Adeline make a cake (it didn’t quite turn out how she wanted it) and was in a long apron and everything. Cute! When it was in the oven he came and told me the cake was all finished. So I responded that we could eat it, but he said we had to wait until Grandpa was here. Of course I was trying to get at the fact that in fact, it wasn’t finished because it still had to back. That’s what limited vocabulary gets you…

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Sounds like you’re one fun nanny! I’m SO with you on dancing being my favorite form of exercise.

    Reply
    • Haha, thanks. Sometimes, I just put my music on and dance in my room. Once I did it for two hours straight. I know I looked silly, but I worked up a sweat so hey, doing that on a regular basis would be great!

      Reply

Any thoughts? I'd love to hear them!

