Rien à Déclarer

That’s the title of the movie we watched tonight. In English Nothing to Declare. Even between trying to listen to the French and trying to read the subtitles I found it absolutely hilarious! A lot of it was the acting and the situation, but still. It’s a movie about elimination of the France-Belgian border in the 90’s. A Belgian Francophobe custom’s officer teams up with a French customs officer as part of a mobile border patrol experiment. I’ve never thought of it while I’ve been here, but how many people were forced to find other jobs when customs checks were no longer necessary at the borders within Europe? There’s a Romeo & Juliette element thrown in as well. If foreign films (well foreign to me anyway!) interest you at all, and if comedies interest you at all, and you don’t mind reading subtitles I would definitely try to check it out. I suppose you could watch it in English, but I’m thinking it would lose a lot/most of what makes it a great movie. And besides that, it’s always best to watch a movie in its original language if possible. I know during one particular scene the Frenchmen was trying to pass off as Belgian so he was trying out different accents. First he was trying out the Liège accent. That didn’t work. Then he was trying to do a Brussels accent. Again, didn’t work. I was able to catch a little hint of a difference, but it was hard because they talk (for me) so very fast and it all sounds French to me! I guess it would be the same for a non-English speaker to listen to someone try different American, United Kingdom, Canadian accents. To us English speakers they all sounds drastically different, but for others they might not, I don’t know. It’s the only comparison I can make.

I definitely want to watch it again. I was laughing so hard. Actually, some of the translations were a little odd; in the subtitles the Belgian called the Frenchmen ‘frogs’ all the time. But what he was saying in French was ‘Camembert’. It’s a type of cheese. One that Greg and Adeline happen to like a lot. And he kept calling them ‘cheese-eaters’. At least that’s what the subtitles said. I’m so glad I watched it with them. Hilarious. ^_^

That’s the most exciting thing that’s happened all day. I spent most of the day glued to my chair organizing my blog. And then I go and make more work for myself, but in the end, I think it will turn out great. I’ve only managed to get up to February 18th in the categorizing and tagging process, and I guess that far in searching out, what I feel to be, the ‘most adorable moments’. As far as the food and drink portions go, well, part of that was I’m having fun creating pages, and part of it is because if people do happen to be interested in that stuff me separating it like that will be easier than using the search option. And maybe people will be more inclined to look if it’s all laid out for them. Of course, it’s going to be a while  before it’s all ready and in some ways doing it now is kind of silly since I only have 4 months left (of this blog anyway), but still, it will be here forever essentially, so someone is bound to find it useful…….

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. It’s well worth the work–you’ll see!

    Reply
    • I think so too. I just always take so long to get things done because I get distracted and I have my Masters in Procrastination. 😛

      Reply

Any thoughts? I'd love to hear them!

