Why do I do this to myself?

So Monday, Tuesday, and today I didn’t go for my morning walk. I just couldn’t get out of bed and decided I would be lazy. I have to be careful about my alarm to because it will go off (on my desk so I have to get up to turn it off), but then I’ll press snooze and bring it back to bed with me. Then it will get buried under a pillow and even at full volume I won’t hear it which means I end up sleeping in. Not good.

I decided today to make up for my laziness. Since I had time I was going to take a long walk. Boy did I ever. 21km/4.5 hours later I managed to make it into the house, eat, and then take a much-needed shower. I probably could have done the 21km in 4 hours instead of 4 and a half, but I didn’t most of my walking on those tractor roads through fields and because of the rain we’ve had in the last two days there were a lot of puddles and flooded areas which meant I had to tread very carefully. I wouldn’t really care so much getting my shoes wet (even though that would be really uncomfortable), but it’s not good for the orthotics and absolutely a no-no for the Nike+ chip (which is already acting up from the last time I went through a mud puddle/drenched grass). As it was after 3h 10m when I went to check my status it decided I was finished. So I had to start another workout for the rest. And for some reason it didn’t record a number for my ‘best 10k’ like it did for my best 5k. This is discouraging because if it would have worked properly I would have had a real comparison. And it also still says my longest walk/run was 8km. It lies. Before I had to start the new one it was over 15k. I do want to go back to the one ‘trail’ and take some pictures because it was pretty, and tranquil. And very green. Someone had just cut the grass so I thankfully I wasn’t wading through knee-deep greenery. Actually, the reason I was able to go where I went even with the puddles was because of my new walking sticks! With their help I was able to make my way over smaller dry patches than without them. I still rolled my ankle bad once and ended up on a knee, but it didn’t hurt my knee as much because it was in the grass, so I just got a nice grass stain on my pants. There were two other times that without the sticks I would have fallen, but with them I managed to stay upright. At first I wasn’t sure if I was using them right (I’m pretty sure there’s a technique ;)) and I’m not sure about the height so I’ll have to check that out. I think towards the end I managed to walk faster on that last stretch than if I would have had them. Plus, at the beginning of the last hour when I had to start a new workout I was so angry that I started off in a huff with more energy.

I was surprised it didn’t rain. It was cloudy most of the time and it was super windy, but there was no rain. I was thankful for that. I was so ready to collapse when I got home that I could barely stand up in the shower. My feet still hurt! The outside edges feel like they have pins and needles in them, but that might just have something to do with the way I walk. *shrug* So today was my longest jaunt yet. I don’t know if I’ll try for more, but maybe. I might try for 25/30km, but in less time so on roads instead of through fields! Although I don’t like the sticks that much on pavement so when/if I try I’ll probably leave those behind, I don’t know yet.

So now I’m going to hobble on over to bed and get a good nights sleep. Tomorrow will be laundry and blog organization. I have a lot of posts to categorize and tag!

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. I am impressed with the miles you’re logging. You go, Girl!

    Reply
    • Thanks! Actually, that makes me think I should mention my total km/m logged since I started with Nike+. And that maybe I should also mention the miles and not just kilometres!

      Reply
  2. ZAK PEGG

     /  August 25, 2011

    Best of luck reconstructing your blog world. WordPress can be a monster some times. CHEERS

    Reply
    • Thanks so much! WP might be a monster, but mostly it’s just I don’t know what I’m doing, lol. Plus, compared to other blogging sites I’ve had the opportunity to stumble upon, WP is totally awesome. Of course, I’m biased, but I’ve had nothing but problems trying to leave comments on other blogging sites. ^_^

      Thanks for stopping by. 😀

      Reply

Any thoughts? I'd love to hear them!

