Why is this becoming like homework?

Mostly I wait till 8:30-9pm before writing my blog because I want to be able to include my entire day. Problem is I forget a lot of things because I’m not going to spend the entire day taking notes. That and I’m a master of procrastination. In university when I didn’t want to do my homework/IPA-translation song prep/practicing/readings I would while away my time on Facebook and random sites where people would post drunk texts or a lot of other random stuff. It’s horrible, I know, but that’s just how I work. Apparently under pressure. Not that I necessarily work well under pressure (only sometimes), but all the same…

I like writing this blog, don’t get me wrong, but sometimes it does feel like homework that needs doing and I just don’t want to. I feel like a whiny kid who wants to go somewhere or eat something, but isn’t allowed. So I just spent the last hour on a site called Damn You Auto Correct and is full of posts of text conversations that end up being way different than intended. I haven’t laughed so hard in a really long time. Well, maybe not that long, but it’s been a week at least ;). I posted a link for the Top 10 hilarious movie title auto correct fails. Seriously. Most of you will laugh so hard you’ll cry (or do any number of things, but we won’t go there). I think the people who program those auto correct programs are a little…off. Most of the auto corrects have a common theme which can lead to some disturbing and very uncomfortable situations, but still good for a laugh. At least for me. What do you think? What does this say about me? Maybe it’s just because I’m tired… No, I would think it’s funny any time. Enough about that.

What did I do today? Well, I started the HBO series Band of Brothers. I thought since Greg and I are watching The Pacific I should watch this one too. So far I’m not sure which I like better, but I do know that when it comes to theme music I like the title theme for The Pacific better. I’d have to listen to them both again to really tell you why, but I guess if I had to say right now I would say it is more…evocative. I don’t know if that’s really the word I want. Maybe one of them, but not the word. Either way, it pulls at my heartstrings more than the theme for Band of Brothers. Then again, I’ve heard it 4 times more. I also watched the Paul Gross movie Passchendaele. I’ve wanted to see it for a while because it’s a war movie about the Canadians (WWI). It wasn’t bad. I don’t know why, but it just didn’t measure up to a lot of other war movies. It wasn’t that the acting was bad or anything. Maybe it was the story line or just the way it was portrayed. I don’t know. I do know that Paul Gross starred in it, directed, wrote, produced and you knows what else. Which kind of gets under my skin. Does he just want to see his name everywhere in the credits or what? I don’t know why it bugs me and it’s not just him. When people feel the need to produce, direct, and star in their movie well, you’re either a control freak or you’re really selfish and are having a love affair with the spotlight.

What else did I do? Sent more emails. With my family’s arrival so close we are busy making last-minute arrangements. I also looked up one of the museums in the Netherlands my Mom wants to go see as well as asked a friend about things to do in Munich (she spent 3 or so months there). We’ll only be there one night, but she recommended a restaurant that is a must visit if you’re in Munich: Hofbräuhaus. So hopefully we can check it out and have some real German beer. I’m thinking about buying a beer Stein when we’re there. They’re not very expensive and even though I know Belgium is known for their beer, when I think beer (and sausages and Oktoberfest) I think Germany. Actually, when I think Oktoberfest I think Kitchener, but that’s only because K-Town is closer to home.

Picked up the boys. Adeline and I played with them for a bit. Oh, by the way. I think we have a Vivaldi fan on our hands. It all started with a toy phone Adeline bought for Bastien at the garage sale. The one button plays classical music and the one snippet is that most famous theme from Vivaldi’s Four Seasons: Spring. After only hearing it a few times Bastien was already singing along. So Adeline put that in the CD player to try to calm Bastien down a bit. It worked for a little. We also made a list of meals for the first couple days my family is here. Supper’s on me the first two nights! Well, with help from Adeline, at least for the Saturday. After supper we headed upstairs for bath time! Greg arrived home at that time and after watching Bastien play (noisily) in the tub for a while, he and Adeline went downstairs and I finished up with the boys.

That’s when I came down here, opened up WordPress.com, saw the Freshly Pressed blogs, clicked one about texting, which then led me to the Damn You Auto Correct web site. And that’s what I did for a while. No more! I have a little self-control. Now, off to bed with me! Before my head explodes…

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Any thoughts? I'd love to hear them!

