I have found my guilty pleasure…

…and it’s not chocolate. Gasp! Don’t get me wrong, the chocolate is awesome, but this is something much cooler (and better for my health). It’s a kind of all-purpose sports/camping/hiking/outdoors store. They even have a basketball court (I think it was basketball, I was in a hurry) outside. It just opened a couple of weeks ago. Just inside the door is all the camping stuff; then tents and sleeping bags, etc. I was almost salivating. I don’t get camping that often, but I love the idea of it. The last time I truly went camping was when I was 18 and I went with 3 friends up to the Lake Superior Provincial Park. Or LSPP as well liked to call it. It was in July and it was freezing at night, hot during the day, and we only found one sandy beach, but the trails, the trails were exhilarating. I would love to go back someday. There was one trail, the Peat Mountain Trail I believe, that conquered us. It’s 11km with a 2km loop. We took the loop and ended up by a lake. When we picked the trail back up it took us up a steep, steep incline. I was always the slowest, so by the time I got up to where my friends were I saw them sitting dejectedly on the ground staring up at a sign. It turns out we were back at the beginning of the loop. We were so discouraged (this was the last day of a full week of long hikes) that we headed back the way we came. I know at least two of us want to go back and beat that trail. Someday we will. I remember when I called my parents (we used a pay phone….we were in the middle of nowhere, but even so, I don’t think we even all had cell phones) I raved about how beautiful it was up there. I must have been convincing because for their wedding anniversary that year they went up there and stayed on a little island. Anyway, they had little tents that collapsed round and fit into flat, round bags; they had the coolest sleeping bags that basically cocoon you inside (on of my friends had one when we went camping and I remember wanting one). I’m obviously not going to buy any of that stuff because I can get it in Canada, it’s just, I really want to.

I did go in there with a purpose though. I bought a water pouch….not a Camelbak, but a Widepac. I’m pretty excited. I know it’s small and somewhat silly to get excited about a container for water, but new things are always fun. I tend to find new and USEFUL things fun. Most of the time. I also bought a micro-fiber towel (green of course). It’s not big enough to cover you, but it takes up very little space and dries really well (just by patting yourself). They had an even bigger size, but I thought that might have been a little overkill.

Bastien stayed home sick today, so I went to the store then took the little red car to Sybille’s. I had lunch there and Adeline and Bastien picked me up. They dropped me off in Wasseiges and continued on to the doctor. Bastien will be home all week. He has little white bumps inside his throat. I don’t know what that is, and Adeline doesn’t know what it is in English so that’s all I’ve got. When I said goodnight to him Greg asked him if he was going to give me a kiss and he said no. But then he blew me not one, but TWO kisses. Even though Greg was right there, he felt the need to tell his Dad that he had given me two kisses. I asked if I could have a kiss tomorrow and he said yes. Go me!

Tonight Adeline’s godfather and his wife came over for dinner. We had some fun at the table singing children’s songs to Bastien. Well, they sang, I listened. Bastien sang some as well. It was very impressive because usually he’s sing a line or two and then stop. Or with the little duck song he’ll skip right to the end, but this time he sang the whole thing. It was adorable.

For dessert we had mango sorbet with raspberries and cherries. Now, the special thing about the fruit was that it came from the backyard! You know what this means (or maybe you don’t…); I’ll have access to a lot of cherries to practice tying their stems with my tongue. I tried a few tonight and I am out of practice. Gah. It was hard because they were a little short, but I managed to get a few into knots.

I’m sorry if any of you are startled by the drastic change in the look of my blog, but I couldn’t help it. Of course which each new theme comes a different set-up and I haven’t been able to get some things just the way I want them yet. I’ll get used to it though and I’ll wonder why I was ever annoyed in the first place. Let’s hope I don’t get bored with it and want to change again! It always takes up a bunch of time, but I do learn new things in the process. I don’t know why I can’t just be happy with one and stick with it. I don’t even remember what my first two themes were….I wish there was a history of that on my account. Maybe there is and I just don’t know where to look. I like the light, airiness of this one. And the fact that I can choose the link colour. Don’t you love that awesome green?! Bad Holly. I know, I know, grammatical errors on purpose are not cool. But you know what, this is my blog, not an academic paper so I don’t care. It’s hard to convey exactly what I’m feeling with words and I find fooling around with punctuation marks helps. At least that’s what I keep telling myself :P.

The picture in the Header is of these statues in Namur. It was taken back in January. The little guy is pointing a finger at two snails; one that is quite big with a rope around its neck, and a little baby snail in a cage. I can’t remember the specifics behind the statue, but I thought it was neat. I’ll keep it around for a while. ^_^

Leave a comment

Any thoughts? I'd love to hear them!

