Why is this so hard?!?!?!?!?!

I know that I’m going to make mistakes with my French. Obviously. I know that my pronunciation is going to be lacking at times. But what I don’t understand is why I keep making this one mistake over and over and over and over and over and…you get the picture. Half the time when I’m trying to talk about the chickens it sounds like I’m talking about a sweater and vice versa. Where one has an ‘ooo’ sound the other is an ‘œ’ sound – I’m pretty sure that’s the IPA symbol (International Phonetic Alphabet). Basically you make an O shape with your mouth and say ‘ə’ (umm….RE-quest…not REEE-quest, but RE-quest. Not really helping, sorry). I had to do it all the time in university when I sang and in my diction class in second year. So why now am I having so much trouble with it? Maybe I’m just being lazy sometimes and I forget. That’s horrible, but I guess I always had to think more about it when I was singing. Or I thought I had to think about it harder when I was singing and I’m not trying as hard now. I don’t know. Either way I’m frustrated with myself.

I think my reading is getting better though. I had to read some stuff out loud today in class and although I made mistakes (everybody does), I think I’m getting better. I’m starting to recognize a little when ‘ent’ is silent for example. You have to pay attention to what you’ve already read and know what it means, then you will know if something is silent or not. I guess. For example, “…la plupart des pays d’Europe ne travaillent pas ce….” (this was on one of my hand-outs). In this case, since it talks about more than one country, the ‘ent’ in travaillent is silent. When I got here I would have pronounced that, now I know enough to pay attention to other parts of the sentence. It’s small, but it’s an improvement. Yay for little victories!

Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. life is totally all about the little victories. :] xx

    Reply

Any thoughts? I'd love to hear them!

