Wishing you a happy May 1st

There is a tradition here (and I believe in France as well, and probably other places) of giving a sprig of Lily of the Valley, or le muguet, as a symbol of good luck on May 1st. This is what Adeline gave me:

For something so small, they sure have a strong scent. I like it.

I bed you’re probably wondering how last night went. Well, it went well except that Sylvain woke up at 4:30 this morning. He has a cough again, I think that’s what initially woke him up. I tried giving him his soother first to see if he would go back to sleep, but that didn’t work. So I made him a bottle and he went back to sleep. Than like clockwork, 3 hours later he woke up again. 15 minutes after that I heard Bastien was up. We went to the bakery this morning to get something for breakfast. It was really busy! I don’t know if this is common for a Sunday morning, or if it’s just because today is May 1st and people are doing something special, I don’t know. I do know that there were multiple people who had 4 or more loaves of bread. One guy and his son had a box full. After that adventure we went back home to eat. Bastien asked if he could watch some TV and since he was being so nice and so good (and it’s the weekend) I said yes. We watched Disney’s The Aristocats together. We had a nice time. He’s always quiet when the TV is on, but he sat with me this time. He told me where I should sit because he said he wanted to lie down a bit and he did. I thought he would have his feet next to be, but instead he rested his head next to me. It’s sad that the times when he is the nicest, and calmest with me is when it’s just us. He’s not always mean when his parents are around, it’s just when it’s just me he knows I’m the one he listens to so he doesn’t give me as hard of a time. At least, that’s what I’m assuming it is.

At lunch we had sandwiches and at first he only wanted one slice. First he said yes I could fold it in half and then no. Then he wanted cheese; first it was by itself then he put it on his bread. Then he had his meat separate, then on his bread (to you see a pattern here). The he wanted mayonnaise, so I decided to do something funny since it was a squeeze bottle and I could.

I love how the eyes are mirror images of each other. I didn’t even try to do that.

Eventually he did add another piece of bread and actually ate it like a sandwich. He also had some lettuce too, but he didn’t eat it all. When it comes to feeding Sylvain you have to brace yourself. He’s awesome at guzzling down a bottle, but baby food…no way. He just won’t open his mouth enough to get the spoon in! I’m sure this is common with babies when they start eating actual food-that-was-once-solid.

Once the boys were down for their naps I took one too. Sylvain woke up about an hour or so before Adeline and Greg got back, and Bastien, I guess just before. I had checked on him about 30min before they got back and he was still asleep, but he must have woken up in between that time because he was awake when they got home (but still upstairs).

Adeline and Greg enjoyed their mini-vacation with the relaxing and the quiet. I’m glad that they’re doing stuff like that when I’m here, it’s helpful to take a break sometimes I think. Well, tomorrow is back to the grind; French class. Actually, I’m looking forward to it, don’t let me fool you. 😛 I can’t believe it’s May already! It’s crazy how time flies. Hope everyone had a great weekend.

Leave a comment

Any thoughts? I'd love to hear them!

