Woops

Ok. So yesterday I wrote myself a couple of notes after lunch so I wouldn’t forget to put them in my blog. What did I do?I forget. So I’ll mention them tonight.

Also, I am very happy right now. I’m not exactly sure why. Maybe it’s because it’s spring and despite it being chilly this morning, it became a little warmer throughout the day. Maybe it’s because in class today I was able to talk about Easter with confidence….I mean, obviously I made mistakes, but I was more confidant in my French. I was also really excited when we started grammar! I think maybe it’s because although I can learn it on my own I want to learn it in class. I don’t know. There was another teacher in class today. He started the class and I thought he was our new teacher now, but then our other teacher came in and sat at the back so I think maybe he’s a student teacher or something. He seems young. I guess I missed a lot these last two weeks. Now we have 3 weeks off because of spring vacation and Easter. My next class is May 2!

Yesterday:

At breakfast during the week we have cereal. On the weekends we mix it up a bit, but we usually have bread with different things to spread on it; peanut butter, jam, and off course chocolate. I don’t know why this is relevant, but there you go. Oh, now I know! It’s the bread. Ok. So Bastien was playing with his food and bottle (which he does frequently, much to our chagrin) and I thought he was just being silly. But no. He was actually playing with a purpose. He kept saying he was making orange juice and at first I was really confused. Then I actually looked at what he was doing (twisting a piece of bread over his bottle) and realized he was mimicking squeezing the juice out of an orange! We had a good laugh once we realized that’s what he was doing. Clever boy.

Afterwards, Adeline was trying to get him ready to go to his grandparent’s house (Greg’s parents), but he wanted Greg. I was in the kitchen so I only heard a little, but I think I got the gist of what was going on. Greg was busy. Somehow at some point Bastien decided that Adeline was Papa, so she started talking in this really low voice. She said ‘Je suis Papa?’ and Bastien replied ‘Oui.’ Of course, like I said, I’m not 100% sure of this. I was in the other room and it did happen yesterday. I just thought it was really funny at the time.

Today:

Bastien doesn’t always want to give me a hug and a kiss goodbye/goodnight, so sometimes we have to convince him. Usually he’ll say no, and then just before he leaves he’ll give in. It was like that this morning except a little different. He was all ready to go and was just waiting for Adeline, so I asked him if he would say goodbye to me and give me a hug and a bisou. Of course he said no! I said I was sad and that wasn’t very nice of him. His reply was ‘yes’…I think that meant he was agreeing that it wasn’t nice. Or he just didn’t care. It’s hard to tell sometimes. Then all of a sudden (I was just sitting on the step waiting) he runs up to me and gives me a hug and a bisou. It was very nice. I didn’t even have to ask him again, he just did it on his own. The same thing happened when I left for class. He didn’t want to do it, but just before I walked out the door he gave me a big hug and bisou! You have to love kids, they’re always surprising you.

Sylvain is making the CUTEST noises right now!! I had to mention it. I hope everyone else is having as good a day as I am!

Next Post
Leave a comment

Any thoughts? I'd love to hear them!

