Let it snow, let it snow, let it snow.

I know yesterday that I said I was beginning to think the weather was always great in these mountains. Today we went up the mountain for the last time. We got some pictures taken with a Saint Bernard puppy. An 8 month old, who I think is actually bigger than Sara, our Golden Retriever who is around 13 years or so. The day started out all sun-shiny and warm, but after being up there for about an hour or so it started snowing. Lightly at first and then it really started coming down. It stopped after a while and then would snow very lightly on an off again. Of course, down in the town it was nice. I guess, by the time I got back down it was nice, I don’t know what it was like when it was snowing up top. Anyway…I was very excited because I love the snow and I love when it snows.

That is the 8 month old Saint Bernard....

Because it was my last chance to go up, after lunch I stayed up for a while, while the others went down to put the kids down for their nap. I had a map and I could have gone for a walk again where Adeline and I went the other day, but instead I just stayed where I was and took in the view. Because I was by myself I could take as much time as I wanted there. I used that time to get more pictures….that pretty much look the same as all my other ones. Except that today there was less sun so the lighting was different and the clouds cast more shadows. I also took a lot of pictures of Freddy and I. It was fun, although a few times I thought I might have put him (and myself) too close to the edge. At one point I was sitting close to an edge and the entire time I was a little freaked out because I was scared I’d slip and fall!

Freddy likes looking for shapes in the clouds...

So, other than that the day was uneventful. Although I feel bad for Adeline because she has an earache :(. She has a doctor’s appointment again tomorrow at 10:15, so we’ll be leaving later than planned. And I’ll be driving down the mountain! It won’t be that bad, it’s easier than going up. I just need to take my time, especially around the tight curves.

Careful! It's a long way down.

So I’m not sure exactly when tomorrow my post will be up, but it will get up eventually! One other thing I thought of; you know how it’s a stereotype that all Canadians are really nice/polite? I’m not saying we aren’t, but one thing that is interesting to note here is how much you greet people. If you’re walking down the street and you pass someone, you say ‘bonjour’. If you’re riding in the same cable car up a mountain with someone you don’t know, you say ‘bonjour’. If you’re hiking on said mountain and you pass someone, you say ‘bonjour’! I think you get the point. It’s common courtesy to greet people as you pass them which is something we don’t do in Canada…at least I don’t. I guess it’s different if you’re in a big city, lots of people it would be hard. I don’t know. I don’t know why I haven’t mentioned it before. I guess sometimes I would nod as I passed by someone, but I never said hello. And this isn’t just here in Verbier, I first noticed it back ‘home’ in Wasseiges I just never wrote about it.

I just love this picture! This was taken before it started snowing.

Freddy and I taking a catnap.

Here we go!

Our last trip down.

I know it's random, but...a car elevator? It would be interesting to take!

Tee hee hee. All the chalet's have names...this one is on the same road as Sybille's.

It's actually really hard to take a good picture of yourself and the scenery...

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Adeline

     /  April 1, 2011

    I like the pictur of me and Bastien verry much…
    I’ll ask it to you…

    Reply

Any thoughts? I'd love to hear them!

