Kids, today’s lessons is: Tongue Twisters!

Today started out quite chilly, but by mid afternoon it warmed up a lot. The wind still has a bite to it, but when it slowed down and the sun was shining, you felt like running around without a jacket! Which quite a few kids were doing at school. I almost didn’t see Bastien because he wasn’t wearing his hat! I always know to look for either the red and white Canada hat, or his bright green monster hat. Because it was warm his hat and scarf were in his bag. Part way home though he wanted to put them on because the wind was making him cold.

I played the piano for a few hours this morning. I am trying to re-memorize the songs I used to know and also learn some new ones. It was a lot of fun, but a bit frustrating as well when my mind would blank on a bar here and there. Also, this afternoon, Adeline played for me (on the guitar) 2 of the 3 songs she’s written. They were really great, I liked them. Bastien joined me on the piano and we hashed out a song together. Good times, good times.

After dinner we were sitting at the table talking and Adeline started saying this impressively long tongue twister (I thought it was complete nonsense, but Greg told me otherwise). After that we swapped them back and forth, teaching each other French and English one’s. I have that first one in a comic book and I’m going to put it on here for you; basically translated I believe it means something like amazon papa has lice, amazon papa doesn’t have lice….I’m not exactly sure. Either way, in French it’s awesome!

Chez les papous, ‘y a des papous à poux, et des papous pas à poux, mais chez les papous, ‘y a des papous papas et des papous pas papas, donc chez les papous, ‘y a des papous papas à poux, des papous papas pas à poux des papous pas papas à poux et des papous pas papas pas à poux, mais chez les poux ‘y a des poux papas et des poux pas papas, donc chez les papous, ‘y a des papous papas à poux papas, des papous papas à poux pas papas, des papous pas papas à poux papas et des papous pas papas à poux pas papas…..

Adeline’s like the master of all tongue twisters. The Titan of Tongue Twisters! Alright, alright, so that isn’t a very good name, but what can you do. At least it doesn’t start with a p…..

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Lauragami

     /  March 11, 2011

    Betsy Botter bought some butter.
    “But,” she said, “this butter’s bitter.
    If I put it in my batter, it will make my batter bitter.
    But a bit of better butter – not a bit of bitter butter –
    will make my batter beter yet!”

    Yay!

    Reply
    • Thank you SO much Laura. That one is amazing. It’s hard, but worth it! Thanks for reading!!!

      Reply

Any thoughts? I'd love to hear them!

