Why do people obsess over celebrities?

I’m including myself in this bunch, although I’m not as crazy as some people. I mean sure, when I see a show or movie I like, I tend to inform myself about the actors in said show or movie, because I’m curious. But once I get the basics, I’m good. I don’t need to know their every move as if their entire life is a movie made solely for my benefit. They’re just regular people who happen to work in the spot light. I am a little embarrassed by this admission, but we all do embarrassing things, just not all of us post about it on the internet. Oh wait…Millions of people do that everyday, it’s called YouTube.

You might be wondering what brought this on and what it has to do with my day. My day was uneventful. I picked Bastien up from school and then went to my French class and while I was in the office getting some paper work taken care of, Adeline called me to say that my teacher had canceled class because she is sick. At least the trip wasn’t a total waste – what with the paper work as well as picking up Sylvain – because I was already out and about and not that far from the babysitter’s.

When I got home Adeline was watching a movie. I’m not sure what it was called (she told me, but I forget, of course). It was in French, but not originally. I think the original is in English and based on the fact that the cars had the steering wheels on the right, the landscape/weather, and the school uniforms these girls were wearing, I’m going to guess it’s set in England somewhere. So I didn’t know exactly what was going on, except that there was this house in the country where a group of writers were staying because it was peaceful and conducive to good writing. One woman was dating a singer (I think) and that’s where the crazy celebrity obsessing question comes in.

There were these two girls, and they were acting crazy over Ben (the singer). The one girl’s entire room was covered in his name and pictures of him. And they were stalking him at this house…they even broke in and went in the room him and his girlfriend were staying in, and stole a jacket and I think a pair of boots. I tell you, insane.

I guess I can’t completely condemn the quest for knowledge of celebrities because we’re all a little interested in the lives of celebrities; but my question is why? Is it because their lives seem so much more exciting than ours? Because they get to do things that most of us only dream of? Pfsh. I don’t know. Most of you who know me know that I love performing and that I would love to be able to make a living doing that. My dream is NOT to become rich and famous, I like my privacy thank you very much. I just want to perform, but it will just be a hobby and I think I’m ok with that. I mean, my dream won’t get anywhere at this rate. I’m not a huge fan of big cities and I’m a total chicken…not once I’m on stage, but just in the getting there. We can’t all be like Justin Bieber and become YouTube celebrities overnight. You have to go out and make your dreams happen…I just don’t know if I have the guts to do that! The answer is, I don’t. I guess it all comes down to God’s plan for my life. If it’s meant to be, somehow I will (only with God’s help) gain the courage and strength to at least try.  Sorry I’m being such a Debbie Downer. That wasn’t what this post was supposed to be about!

I guess I just let my fingers run away with me there. Sometimes that happens. This can be good or bad. I’m going to just leave it. Maybe it will give you all a little insight into just who I am that you weren’t looking for! Ha! Such was my plan. MUWAHAHAHAHA!!! Just kidding. Again, fingers just ran away and took my brain with them, but I think it’s funny so I won’t delete it. What’s going on? It’s not even that late. Maybe it’s because of that piece of chocolate I had a little bit ago…Remind me to stay away from chocolate just before posting on my blog.

Sorry for the long post about nothing. I hope you were able to chuckle at least ONCE during this entire thing. If not, I have failed at my job and should just give up….

….Got you! I won’t give up. Not until the year is out! I have to do strange things like this every once in a while to make sure you’re still reading and interested. Besides, there will be a quiz at the end of the year. And you must pass. Just like my grade 12 English grammar quizzes, a pass is not 50%, but 70%. And if you fail, you have to try again…until you pass.

***Note to all readers: There will in fact NOT be a quiz, I repeat, there will NOT be a quiz. That would take way too much effort on the part of the author and is also not in her contract. Thank you for reading, good night. ***

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Adeline

     /  February 22, 2011

    In England Yes…
    It’s “Tamara Drewe”

    Reply
  1. Boys will be boys | hollyjb

Any thoughts? I'd love to hear them!

