I’m makin’ waffles!

Ok. So I’m not Eddie Murphy, this is not Shrek and I did not make waffles. But I did make pancakes! There’s this time of the day, between  3 and 5 or so, when it is ‘snack’ time. This is known as ‘goûter’. For us it’s usually when Bastien gets up from his nap. Today, I made pancakes! Adeline and Bastien helped mix the milk, egg, and pancake mix, but I did the rest. Everyone liked them and they closely resembled circles, but they didn’t look pretty. And they were small-ish. There was no Canadian Maple Syrup (my parents are bringing that this summer), but there was delicious chocolate spread. Dark chocolate, milk chocolate, yummy.

So to continue on with the North American theme today we had burgers for supper. I helped make them. Well, I just helped form them into patties. So did Bastien actually, Greg got pictures. It’s funny, because the burgers with the processed cheese slices, and everything, reminded me of summer and of home when my Mom barbecues burgers and we have them with fresh lettuce and tomatoes.

Adeline also introduced me to a French rock musical from the 80s, ‘Starmania’. I’m pretty sure that’s what it’s called. It was a couple hours ago and I’m drawing a blank.

Also, I found in Bastien’s room The Chronicles of Narnia in French, a.k.a. Le Monde de Narnia. So, since I’ve read those books many times, I’m going to make my way through them in French. I know what happens, so I can connect the dots with the other language! It’s all in one big book so it’s going to seem like a HUGE undertaking, almost 900 pages, but really, it’s not that bad. It’s not like I have a time limit. I do have all year…although it better not take me that long!

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Aunt Anne

     /  February 16, 2011

    Hi Holly,
    I’m lovin your blog. I don’t read it every day but as of today I am caught up. You have to keep doing this! With respect to your idea about writing a book, what about a children’s book? Sounds like you have lots of content.
    It is so great to hear that you have settled in and are enjoying yourself! Take care. Anne XOXO

    Reply
    • That’s a good idea too. We’ll see. I like writing these short posts and I’m not sure if I could write a lot (I’m more of a reader), so maybe a short children’s book. So far I have a children’s book, a Europe/North America comparison, and a cook book full of Belgian recipes. Those have been the suggestions. I think I definitely need to take note of a lot of the recipes we make.

      Thanks for reading!!

      Reply

Any thoughts? I'd love to hear them!