Rush hour and hostage situation make for a wonderful journey.

Ok. So today I picked up Bastien from the babysitter’s and took him to the hospital in Namur where Adeline and Greg were with Sylvain. A normally 27 minute journey took me 1.5 hours. Most of that (at least an hour, but probably closer to an hour and 10-15) was spent in stop and go traffic in Namur. Bastien was pretty good about it – although every time someone honked their horn Bastien would say ‘oh! an accident!’ – it was cute, but of course not true. I had to ask him a few times to not make random loud noises because  I was trying to concentrate in a huge traffic jam in an unfamiliar city with a GPS that I couldn’t hear (and couldn’t find the volume button on). Most of the way was straight, but there were times I had to be really careful.

Because I don’t have a working phone at the moment and my radio was off (although, being in French I wouldn’t have understood them anyway) I had no idea that this kind of traffic was not normal. In fact, at the hospital Greg informed me that there was a hostage situation somewhere in Namur and so a bunch of roads were closed, thus causing the horrendous traffic. I sat at one light and watched it go from green to red to green to red to green to red and finally to green again before I moved. Lots of fun :D.

Greg was actually at the entrance when I pulled up and saw me when I was getting my parking ticket out of the machine and he took Bastien upstairs while I parked. Then I had the daunting task of finding the pediatric section. I knew it was on the third floor and I had the room #, but there were so many doors to go through. Actually, in the grand scheme of things finding them in the hospital was the easiest part! I didn’t even have to ask for help.

So, now I know that I do have the ability to keep my cool and not succumb to uncontrollable road rage…not that that’s ever happened before. :S All in all, a good experience. The drive home was awesome. There was almost no traffic, even in the city. It was clear sailing. I got home, gave Bastien his bath and was reading him a story when Greg got in. Greg came upstairs and Bastien went right to bed. He was actually very well-behaved in the bath tonight. Normally he hates when you wash his hair and get him wet with the shower head in the tub, but tonight he just went along with it really well. Also, in the car on the way home he was going through the -vers again. Holly-ver, Mamma-ver, Pappa-ver, etc. I didn’t even bring it up, it was all him.

So Sylvain is still at the hospital tonight, but he hasn’t gotten worse so that’s good.  He’s so cute when he sleeps. Aren’t all babies adorable in that state? Of course, Sylvain is ‘si mignon’ all the time!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Adeline

     /  February 7, 2011

    actualy, it was at the Prison of Namur. One of the prisonier did kill an otherone and take the oters in hostage… it was at the psychiatric departement. you can imagine why sutch a mess in the trafic jam…

    Reply
    • I see! Thanks for clearing that up. I wasn’t sure if I should write about it…if it would be ‘sensitive’ or something.

      Reply

Any thoughts? I'd love to hear them!

