French class begins!

Today was my first French class of the year. I will be taking it Monday nights all year (with holidays of course….in April I only have 1 class!), from 4:30-7pm. It was very nerve-wracking because of course the entire thing was in French. There were 8 of us in the class tonight, and all of them – except for maybe one – have been in that class for a year already…or almost a year. A beginner class starts in February, so hopefully I won’t be SO much of a fish out of water. I actually understood quite a bit. Maybe not every single word, but about 90% of the ideas, I would say (although math has never been my strong suite :P).

I spent most of the day watching YouTube videos of the Notre Dame de Paris musical (it’s a French-Canadian musical if Wikipedia is to be believed) and a number of the main characters (the original cast) were from Quebec! I was watching it with the original cast with English subtitles. It’s quite interesting. It’s based on the book by Victor Hugo (maybe you’ve seen Disney’s The Hunchback of Notre Dame? It’s that story). I picked a few of my favourite songs and Adeline printed out the lyrics for me so that I could learn them faster and also have the translation (she found those for me, awesome!) so it can help me learn French faster. I’ve always learned well with song…and remembered for a lot longer as well. In fact, I still remember that song I learned in Grade 1 that taught us ‘on top of, underneath, inside, in front, behind, and beside’. Good times.

Well, that’s it! ‘Night ^_^

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Diane

     /  January 11, 2011

    It is now 9:00 p.m. BC time, so technically it is January 11, 2011 in Belgium.
    HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU
    HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU
    HAPPY BIRTHDAY DEAR HOLLY
    HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU
    Hope you have a great birthday! You really should be this old. Weren’t you just a little girl a few year ago?????? Where does the time go. You are making me feel old. : – )
    Love Aunt Diane & Lynn

    Reply
    • What are you talking about? I’m still a little girl…..I will never grow up! Haha, you’re not old, your just wiser and more experienced! Hope things are well on the West coast.

      Love Holly

      Reply

Any thoughts? I'd love to hear them!

