New Year’s Eve Day – Post #6 (Don’t forget to start @ the beginning ;))

Tonight, tonight, won’t be just any night. Tonight there will be no morning star.

Today Adeline, Bastien, Sylvain, and I went for a walk around Wasseiges. We first went to the post office to mail some cards, then we made a big circle past the Pharmacy, the Restaurant (and French Fry place), the Police Station and Community Centre, Bastien’s future school, and some deer (of which type I can’t remember). The houses around here are really neat. Most are quite old and so they have this character to them that you don’t get with most houses in Canada. It’s garbage day and Adeline was telling me that you can tell how many people live in a house based on the size of their garbage bins. The smallest means 1; medium = 2, and large = 3+. There were a few houses I noticed that had one person living there, but it looked like there could have been a whole family! The streets are very narrow and because of the snow you have to walk on the road. Luckily most cars are patient. ‘Les voiture’, that’s one word for car. See! I’m learning.

Adeline took me through on of Bastien’s books this morning to practice my French. It was about a bear who wanted to hug his pet cat. The cat was running away so he pulled its tail! Cats don’t like that so it scratched (‘graffee’) him (I might not have the spelling right…and we can’t forget those accents!). He went to his father (who was holding the cat) and said the cat was mean. His father said maybe it was him who was mean and not the cat! The bear went off and the cat eventually came back to him and gave him his hug. The end. It actually made learning some things easy because I knew what the basic idea of each page was and I was able to figure out most of the words then.

So tonight we’re going to Jean-Gobert’s house for a nice dinner party.  By the time you all catch up and finally ring in the New Year, I’ll have been in bed for a few hours :P. I’m sure I’m going to have lots of fun, trying to keep up with all the French around me!

I’m going to leave with a couple more pictures. These are the deer living in Wasseiges.

                                                                                                                       

Want to see more pictures? Want to show your love?

Click here to visit my page on Facebook or check the sidebar to visit or Like Hollyjb.

© 2010-2011 hollyjb

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Deanna and Tony

     /  January 1, 2011

    Happy New Year!! 2011 will definately be special. Lots of Love

    Reply
  2. Sandra, Heike, Peter

     /  January 1, 2011

    Hi Holly! Happy New Year’s from Aunt Heike, Uncle Peter, and Sandy. We’ve read through your blog and Dad loves the Troll glass. 🙂 Mom likes your room (though the walls are bare, LOL), and I love the deer.

    You seem to be enjoying yourself. You’ve also done a lot already! Here’s to a great year in Belguim!

    Sandy, Aunt Heike & Uncle Peter

    Reply
    • I’m glad that you all found something you like! I want to try and make it interesting and informative. It all depends on how much time I have and how tired I am!

      Reply
  3. Stu & Wendy

     /  December 31, 2010

    HAPPY NEW YEAR HOLLY !!!!
    2011 IS GOING TO BE AN AMAZING YEAR FOR YOU !!!
    WE ARE SO ENVIOUS !!!!

    Reply
    • Hey! I’m glad you got on here, and I hope this is ok. I know you wanted an email a week, lol, but at least this won’t clog up your inbox!

      Reply
  1. Goulash « hollyjb

Any thoughts? I'd love to hear them!

