Kind Of Like A Bitter Sweet Symphony

I should be landing in Toronto in about 18 hours. Oh my. It’s past midnight and I’m so tired and yet so energized. I want to go to bed, but I can’t. I was really worried at the beginning of the day, but things are looking up. That’s only because I’m leaving a box of stuff (summer clothes, some shoes, etc.) here for them to mail behind me. It’s costing a lot, but what can you do. At this point I should only have one suitcase that’s overweight, but still under the limit. I can get them both shut with a reasonable amount of effort and I’m still able to lift them myself. Things are looking up. As soon as this post is finished I can pack up my desk and go to bed.

This will be my last time posting in Belgium. I’m so excited to go home and see everyone and yet I’m so sad too. When I left Canada I knew I would be coming back and I knew that this year would hold many exciting things for me. Leaving now it’s different. Hopefully it works out to visit in June, but after that…. I won’t be coming back for a long time. At least we have Skype which helps. When we sat down to lunch today I didn’t have much of an appetite. I was stressing out so bad. When we were finished eating I just sat at the table and started crying. Silently and not very obviously, but crying non the less. It kind of hit me by surprise. I mean, the last couple of nights I’ve become pretty emotional and teary eyed while posting, but it just really hit me at lunch today that I’m leaving and how much I’m actually going to miss it here. Tomorrow is going to be quite the emotional morning. The boys are sleeping in track suits so that they don’t have to take the time to dress them in the morning. They’re even going to have their bottles in the car. Good planning!

Sylvain came into my room a few times and climbed on my one suitcase. I even sucked the air out of the vacuum seal bag while he was sitting on it. I wonder what he thought of that. I spent a little time on and off with the boys today. Mostly Sylvain because he was wandering all around the house and came into my room a lot. I did spend most of the day in my room organizing stuff. And some time just sitting on the floor thinking ‘what am I going to do with all this stuff?’. I did spend some time tweeting and on Facebook and replying to emails to distract myself from the stress. But now that it’s been decided they’ll mail a box for me and I’m able to actually close my suitcases I’m a lot less stressed.

Plans for the coming week keep changing, but they are as follows (for now ;)); tomorrow Mom, Dad, and Lisa will pick me up at the airport. We’ll go home to New Dundee, unload my stuff and then it’s off to London to Lisa and Will’s apartment. Lisa’s truck is at home, so we’ll be taking 2 vehicles. I’ll probably drive with her so she doesn’t have to go alone and because she’s my sis and I love her ^_^. We’ll go to her place, I’ll get to officially meet Will for the first time, and we’ll open Christmas presents. I actually don’t have any for my family :S. I have something for Lisa that I got this summer, but she already knows about it…or at least she did. I wonder if she remembers? Will doesn’t work tomorrow so that’s why we’re doing it then. The 28th is now just getting my Health Card stuff taken care of. After that it’s a welcome home dinner on the 30th, and Roth Christmas on the 1st. I have no idea what I’m doing for New Year’s.

Jean and Valerie came for supper tonight and Jean stayed over so he could come to the airport tomorrow. We watched 2 episodes of Chuck which is one reason I’m posting so late. But I didn’t mind because I don’t have to drive tomorrow and I can at least try to sleep on the plane. This time I’m totally getting up and stretching a few times throughout the flight! It’s 8 hours this way. Coming here it was only 7 and I sat the entire time…by the time we were in landing mode and couldn’t stand up, I was so uncomfortable and wanted to stand so badly…because I couldn’t :P. Hopefully everything will run smoothly and customs won’t hold me up too long. I even typed out my list of things I’m declaring so if they ask me any questions it’s all right there.

And I totally have a small burn mark on my forehead now >_<. The straightener Jean got me for Christmas is about twice the size of my old one and heavier so handling it is a little tricky for me until I get used to it. So I burned myself :P. Once I figure out how it handles and how the rotating barrel works best it will be awesome. I just have to get used to the different size. So right now it’s a little awkward.

I’m so excited to show my family my ‘picture book’! And I do actually have some stuff I’m bringing back that is a surprise for Mom…tee hee hee ^_^. So she’ll have something to ‘open’ after all! Dad wanted me to bring him some Jupiler beer back, but I forgot until a little while ago and I have no room for it regardless. Sorry Dad :(.

I’m debating on whether or not to wear make-up tomorrow because I know there will be tears, but I think I’ve decided I will. I want to at least attempt to look human for the pictures I’m sure will be taken at different point in the day. ;) I guess this is it. I don’t have anything else to say at the moment so this is a good time to call it quits.

See you all on the other side!

                                                                                                                        

Want to see more pictures? Want to show your love?

Click here to visit my page on Facebook or check the sidebar to visit or Like Hollyjb.

© 2010-2011 hollyjb

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Leaving is bittersweet and you wrote about it so well … I’m reading your posts in reverse and I have lots to catch up on …

    Reply
    • I’m glad you enjoyed how I wrote about it. Just writing what I felt! I have a lot of yours to catch up on as well…

      Reply
  2. I knew this would be bittersweet. You describe it so well: the packing, the lunch tearfulness, the nebulous plans for your homecoming which obviously thrill you…

    Everything changes. Oh how you’re feeling that little bit of truth!

    P.S., I wouldn’t wear make-up until you’re on the plane home… ;)

    Safe travels! Keep blogging to let us know about your arrival…

    Reply

Any thoughts? I'd love to hear them!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 43 other followers

